Joe Cool

“I don’t think I am top five, I think I am the best. I don’t think I would be very successful if I didn’t feel that way.”
Baltimore Ravens Quarterback Joe Flacco

Joe Flacco recently led the Baltimore Ravens to the Super Bowl Title and was named Super Bowl MVP. Flacco was the first rookie quarterback (2008) to win two playoff games. Joe Flacco is the only quarterback to start and win a playoff game in each of his first five seasons.

Flacco was named the Pepsi NFL Rookie of the Year in 2008. He was drafted by the Baltimore Ravens in the first round (18th overall pick) out of the University of Delaware.

When Joe Flacco said, “I’m the best”, he was criticized by many people. After all, Flacco never has been named to play in a Pro Bowl. In fact, while Flacco was at Delaware, it was no “slam dunk” that he would play in the NFL. The keys for him were that he played very well in the Senior Bowl and he was very impressive in the NFL combine.

Do I think Flacco is the best quarterback in the National Football League? Absolutely not! However, I will say this, the man played absolutely great this post-season (117.2 passer rating). Flacco did not beat himself. He threw 11 touchdown passes with 0 interceptions. During his five regular seasons – 102 T.D. passes and 56 interceptions.

Flacco may not be the best, but he played “like the best” during the 2012 post season.

This entry was posted in Inspiring Sports Quotes. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

